Astrix vs Oasis vs Aembit: Securing AI Agent Identities Compared

Astrix vs Oasis vs Aembit compared for 2026: who still sells each product, how each controls AI agent access, published pricing, and what a new buyer can test today.

Last updated October 21, 2026. Ownership, pricing, documentation access, and GitHub activity were checked against each vendor’s public pages on that date.

In the Astrix vs Oasis vs Aembit decision for 2026, Aembit is the only one of the three a new buyer can still license on its own, try for free, and price without a sales call. Astrix stopped selling new standalone licenses on June 30, 2026, after Cisco bought it, and Oasis is becoming Cyera Identity after Cyera closed a $1 billion deal on September 3.

The products also solve different problems. Astrix is strongest at finding AI agents, MCP servers, and the keys behind them. Oasis turns each agent request into a short-lived session based on what the agent says it is trying to do. Aembit sits in the request path as a gateway and swaps in a scoped credential, so the agent never holds the real secret. The reported Claude Code agent on a Pentagon network is a recent example of the agent credential risk these tools address.

This head-to-head sits in our agent security coverage within AI governance and security. We compared public product pages, pricing, documentation, and GitHub activity on October 21, 2026. No vendor paid for placement or reviewed this page, per our editorial standards and disclosure policy.

TL;DR

  • Aembit is the default pick for new buyers. It is independent, has a free tier for 3 AI agents, lists $20 per agent a month for its Teams plan, and publishes its docs openly.
  • Astrix is now a Cisco asset. Cisco closed the deal on June 29, 2026, standalone sales of new licenses ended on June 30, and its capabilities are moving into Cisco Identity Intelligence, Duo, and Secure Access.
  • Oasis is still sold, under a new owner. Cyera completed its $1 billion acquisition on September 3, 2026, and the platform will operate as Cyera Identity.
  • Our buyer readiness check favored Aembit on every count. It had 406 public docs pages and 6 public GitHub repos updated in the past 30 days, against no public docs for Astrix or Oasis.
  • The three products sit at different layers. Astrix leads on discovery, Oasis on intent-based just-in-time access, and Aembit on brokering credentials at the MCP and API request.

Astrix vs Oasis vs Aembit at a Glance

Pick Astrix only if you already own it or buy Cisco identity, pick Oasis if you want intent-aware access across many clouds, and pick Aembit to broker agent access to MCP servers and APIs. The table compares the three on the facts a buyer needs first, from vendor pages and announcements checked on October 21, 2026.

Astrix SecurityOasis SecurityAembit
Owner (October 2026)Cisco, since June 29, 2026Cyera, since September 3, 2026Independent
Main jobDiscover and secure agents and NHIsIntent-based access for agentsCredential broker and MCP gateway
New standalone licensesEnded June 30, 2026Yes, moving to Cyera IdentityYes
Sits in the request pathNo; works from integrationsYes, through session identitiesYes, through the MCP Identity Gateway
Free tierNoNo3 AI agents
Published priceNoneNone$20 per agent a month (Teams)
Astrix Security vs Oasis Security vs Aembit on ownership, role, availability, and price. Sources: vendor sites and announcements, checked October 21, 2026.

Verdict: Aembit is the only one of the three you can evaluate this week without a sales process. Oasis is the stronger platform for large estates that want one policy layer over cloud, SaaS, and on-premises access. Astrix is a renewal decision for current customers, not a new purchase.

What Our October 21 Buyer Readiness Check Found

Aembit passed every buyer readiness test we ran, while Astrix and Oasis each failed the checks for a free start, a public price, and public documentation. On October 21, 2026 we visited each vendor’s pricing and docs pages, tried each self-serve signup path, and counted public GitHub repositories updated in the previous 30 days through the GitHub API.

Matrix comparing Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit on license availability, free start, list price, public docs, and GitHub activity
What a new buyer could do with Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit, from an AgentStack check of vendor sites and the GitHub API on October 21, 2026. Image: AgentStack.
  • Pricing pages: the Astrix pricing URL returned a 404, the Oasis pricing URL redirected to a demo request form, and Aembit listed three plans on its pricing page.
  • Documentation: the Oasis docs site redirected to a login page, and we found no public Astrix docs site. Aembit’s public llms.txt index lists 406 documentation pages.
  • GitHub activity: Aembit pushed to 6 public repos in the past 30 days, including its Terraform provider on October 21, 2026. Astrix pushed to 2, including the open source MCP Secret Wrapper, and we found no recently updated public Oasis repository.
  • Self-serve signup: Aembit’s free Starter tenant opens without a sales call. Its $20 Teams plan still routes through a contact form, so only the free tier is fully self-serve.

Public docs and a free tenant shorten a proof of concept from weeks to days, because your engineers can test policies before legal signs anything. If Oasis is on your shortlist, ask for docs access and a written price range before the first demo.

How Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit Changed in 2026

Two of the three vendors changed owners within 10 weeks of each other this summer, while Aembit shipped products and partner integrations. That split matters more than any feature gap, because a product that changes owner can be renamed, repriced, or folded into a suite within a year.

Timeline of 2026 events for Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit, from the Oasis Series B to the Cyera acquisition close
Key 2026 dates for Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit, compiled by AgentStack from company announcements on October 21, 2026. Image: AgentStack.
Cisco blog post on acquiring Astrix Security with a June 29, 2026 update saying the acquisition is complete
Cisco blog announcing the Astrix Security acquisition, with its June 29, 2026 completion note, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Cisco.

Oasis raised a $120 million Series B on March 19, 2026, bringing total funding to $195 million, per SecurityWeek, then sold to Cyera less than six months later. Aembit has raised nearly $45 million, including a $25 million Series A in September 2024, per its funding announcement.

Astrix Security: Best for Existing Customers and Cisco Identity Shops

Astrix Security homepage reading AI Agent Security with a notice that Astrix is now part of Cisco
Astrix Security homepage with its Cisco transition notice, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Astrix Security.

Astrix remains a strong discovery platform for teams that already run it, but new buyers cannot license it on its own after June 30, 2026. Its homepage says existing customers keep the service and support in their current agreements while Cisco brings Astrix capabilities into its own products over time.

Astrix organizes the product around Discover, Secure, and Deploy. It builds one inventory of AI agents, MCP servers, and NHIs, including shadow agents nobody registered, flags excessive privileges and abnormal activity, and provisions agents with short-lived, just-in-time credentials. Cisco listed four capability areas in its acquisition post: discovery and governance, access and lifecycle management, threat detection and response, and secrets management.

New buyers who want the same outcome should look at Duo Agentic Identity, which Cisco launched in March 2026 with agent discovery through Cisco Identity Intelligence, agent identities in Duo Directory, and per-tool-call authorization through an MCP gateway, per Duo. Cisco plans to feed Astrix capabilities into those products.

Cisco Duo blog post titled Introducing Duo Agentic Identity, dated March 23, 2026
Cisco Duo announcement of Duo Agentic Identity, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Cisco Duo.
  • Best for: Current Astrix customers and organizations standardizing on Cisco Duo, Secure Access, and Splunk.
  • Pricing (October 2026): No public price, and no new standalone licenses since June 30, 2026.
  • Watch out for: Plan your renewal path now, because Cisco has not published dates for moving Astrix capabilities into its products.

Oasis Security: Best for Intent-Based Access Across Cloud and SaaS

Oasis blog header reading Introducing Oasis Agentic Access Management with the AAM product mark
Oasis announcement of Agentic Access Management, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Oasis Security.

Oasis is the best fit for large enterprises that want each agent action turned into a short-lived, least-privilege session based on what the agent is trying to do. Agentic Access Management (AAM) launched on November 19, 2025, and reads each prompt, tool call, or action plan as a structured intent covering resource, operation, scope, and purpose, per the Oasis launch post.

A deterministic policy engine then checks that intent against rules such as read-only access to production databases or escalation for CRM writes. If the request passes, AAM provisions a just-in-time identity with no standing privileges and tears it down when the task ends, logging the chain from human to agent, prompt, policy, identity, and result.

Coverage is broad: Oasis lists identity providers such as Okta, Ping, and Active Directory, vaults from HashiCorp, Azure, AWS, and Google Cloud, and platforms such as Snowflake, Databricks, GitHub, and Salesforce on its homepage. Cyera says the platform will operate as Cyera Identity and connect to its data intelligence layer, per its completion release.

Oasis Security homepage with a banner saying Oasis has been acquired by Cyera above the Agentic Access Management headline
Oasis Security homepage with its Cyera acquisition banner, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Oasis Security.
  • Best for: Enterprises, especially Cyera data security customers, governing agent access across IaaS, SaaS, PaaS, and on-premises systems.
  • Pricing (October 2026): No public price; the pricing page redirects to a demo request.
  • Watch out for: Intent inference uses a language model to read requests, so test how often legitimate tasks get blocked before you enforce policies in production.

Aembit: Best for Brokered MCP Access You Can Pilot Today

Aembit pricing page showing Starter free, Teams at $20 per agent per month, and Enterprise custom plans
Aembit pricing for IAM for Agentic AI, captured October 21, 2026. Image: Aembit.

Aembit is the best choice for platform teams that want agents to reach MCP servers and APIs without ever holding a long-lived secret. IAM for Agentic AI went GA in April 2026 with a managed MCP Authorization Server that follows the OAuth 2.1 flow in the MCP specification and an MCP Identity Gateway that runs as a Linux virtual machine in your network, per Aembit’s launch post.

The gateway validates tokens, enforces policy on every MCP request, and exchanges credentials for the agent. Its Blended Identity model combines the human’s identity provider context with the agent’s own, and an MCP Tool Access Control policy limits which tools an agent can discover and call. It also covers personal agents such as ChatGPT and Claude when they connect to company resources.

Aembit added CrowdStrike Falcon AI Detection and Response inspection of MCP traffic on September 1, 2026, per its announcement, and a Snowflake integration for third-party agents on July 28, 2026, per its Snowflake release.

  • Best for: Platform and security teams brokering agent access to MCP servers, APIs, and SaaS with no stored secrets.
  • Pricing (October 2026): Starter is free for 3 AI agents, 1 MCP Identity Gateway, and 5 authorization policies. Teams is $20 per agent a month for 10 to 500 agents, and Enterprise is custom, per Aembit’s pricing page.
  • Watch out for: Aembit only governs traffic routed through it, so agents that connect around the gateway stay invisible without a separate discovery tool.

How Each Tool Handles an Agent Request

The clearest difference is where each product acts when an agent asks for access. Astrix mostly observes from integrations, Oasis decides per intent and issues a session identity, and Aembit enforces at the gateway on each call. The table is based on vendor documentation and launch posts checked on October 21, 2026.

StepAstrix SecurityOasis SecurityAembit
Finds unregistered agentsYes, a core strengthYes, across cloud and SaaSOnly agents routed through it
Basis for the access decisionPolicy and posture findingsInferred intent plus policyBlended human and agent identity
Credential the agent getsShort-lived, just-in-timeEphemeral session identityScoped credential swapped in per request
Enforcement pointUpstream systems and remediationSession provisioningMCP Identity Gateway
Audit trailInventory and alertsHuman to agent to intent to resultEvery access event, attributed
How Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit act on an AI agent access request. Sources: vendor documentation and announcements, checked October 21, 2026.

Verdict: Teams that cannot see their agents yet should start with discovery, which favors Oasis now that Astrix is closed to new buyers. Teams that already know which agents call which MCP servers get faster control from Aembit. Our MCP gateways guide covers gateways that add traffic policy on top.

What Astrix, Oasis, and Aembit Cost

Only Aembit publishes prices for agent identity, starting with a free tier and a $20 per agent monthly plan. Astrix sells no new licenses, and Oasis prices through demos, so budget planning for either depends on a sales conversation. Here is what each vendor disclosed on October 21, 2026.

PlanAstrix SecurityOasis SecurityAembit
Free tierNoneNone3 AI agents, 5 authorization policies
Entry paid planNot sold to new customersQuote only$20 per agent a month, 10 to 500 agents
EnterpriseExisting agreements onlyQuote onlyCustom, with conditional access and 24×7 support
Log retention on entry plansNot disclosedNot disclosed24 hours free; 7 days on Teams
Published pricing for Astrix Security, Oasis Security, and Aembit, from vendor pricing pages, checked October 21, 2026.

Verdict: A 50-agent Aembit Teams deployment lists at $1,000 a month, which makes it easy to budget a pilot. For Oasis, ask whether pricing counts agents, identities, or connected systems, because that unit decides how cost grows.

Remove a Hardcoded MCP Secret Before You Pick a Vendor

You can cut the most common agent credential risk today, before any contract. Many MCP client configs store a personal access token in plain text, and Astrix publishes an open source, Apache 2.0 licensed MCP Secret Wrapper that pulls the secret from a vault at launch. Set VAULT_TYPE to aws and point the variable at the secret’s ARN:

{
  "mcpServers": {
    "githubApi": {
      "command": "npx",
      "args": [
        "-y", "@astrixsecurity/mcp-secret-wrapper",
        "GITHUB_PERSONAL_ACCESS_TOKEN=arn:aws:secretsmanager:us-east-1:123456789012:secret:example-ABCDE",
        "--",
        "docker", "run", "-i", "--rm", "-e", "GITHUB_PERSONAL_ACCESS_TOKEN",
        "ghcr.io/github/github-mcp-server"
      ],
      "env": { "VAULT_TYPE": "aws", "VAULT_REGION": "us-east-1" }
    }
  }
}
GitHub repository page for astrix-security mcp-secret-wrapper showing the Apache 2.0 license and 51 stars
Astrix MCP Secret Wrapper repository on GitHub, captured October 21, 2026. Image: GitHub, Astrix Security.

A vault reference keeps the token out of config files, but the agent still holds a long-lived secret at runtime, which is the gap Oasis and Aembit close. Pair this step with the MCP risks in our ToFu MCP tool bug study and the FastMCP client RCE advisories.

Which Should You Choose: Astrix, Oasis, or Aembit?

The right choice depends on whether you already own one of these tools, how many systems your agents touch, and whether you need to find agents or control them. Match your team to a profile below, then confirm the ownership and pricing questions before a proof of concept.

Current Astrix customers

  • Keep Astrix through your current term and ask Cisco for a written plan for your renewal.
  • Evaluate Duo Agentic Identity if your workforce already signs in through Duo.
  • Add Aembit if you need a gateway on MCP traffic before Cisco ships one that fits.

Enterprises with agents across many clouds and SaaS apps

  • Choose Oasis if you want one intent-based policy layer across IaaS, SaaS, and on-premises systems.
  • Favor Oasis further if you already buy Cyera for data security.
  • Ask for documentation access and a reference customer of similar size before you sign.

Platform teams connecting agents to MCP servers

Teams preparing for agent incidents

When None of the Three Is the Right Fit

Skip all three if every agent you run lives inside one identity provider’s platform, because Okta and Microsoft Entra now register agents as their own identity type. Skip them too if your main risk is prompt injection or tool poisoning, which our MCP security tools guide covers. Identity tools decide what an agent may reach, not what it reads.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I still buy Astrix Security?

Not as a standalone product. Astrix ended standalone sales of new licenses on June 30, 2026, one day after Cisco completed its acquisition. Existing customers keep the service in their current agreements, and new buyers should look at Cisco Duo Agentic Identity, where Cisco plans to bring Astrix capabilities over time.

Is Oasis Security still available after the Cyera deal?

Yes. Cyera completed its $1 billion acquisition of Oasis on September 3, 2026, and says the platform will operate as Cyera Identity, the identity pillar of its data security platform. Oasis still takes demo requests, but it publishes no price, so confirm the product name, contract owner, and roadmap before you sign.

Is Aembit free?

Aembit has a free Starter tier for 3 AI agents, one MCP Identity Gateway, and 5 authorization policies, with 24 hours of event log retention, as of October 2026. The Teams plan costs $20 per agent a month for 10 to 500 agents, and Enterprise pricing is custom with conditional access and 24×7 support.

What is the difference between Oasis and Aembit?

Oasis reads what an agent is trying to do, checks that intent against policy, and issues a short-lived session identity across cloud, SaaS, and on-premises systems. Aembit sits in the request path as an MCP gateway and swaps in a scoped credential per call. Oasis covers more systems, while Aembit is easier to pilot.

Which is the best Astrix alternative for new buyers?

For discovery across many systems, Oasis is the closest match to what Astrix offered, though it now belongs to Cyera. For runtime control of agents calling MCP servers and APIs, Aembit is the strongest independent option. Cisco shops should also evaluate Duo Agentic Identity, which is where Astrix capabilities are headed.

For related coverage, see our non-human identity tools, AI agent security tools and AI agent governance platforms.

Read the agent security hub, AI governance and security coverage, governance and compliance coverage, MCP security tools, MCP gateways, MintMCP vs Runlayer vs Lasso, Kong vs AWS AgentCore vs Docker, MCP explained, MCP servers, agent integration platforms, Microsoft Dynamic Agent Risk and Guardian Agents, and NIST, NSA, and CISA agent incident practices. Notes on how we work sit on editorial standards, disclosure, and contact.

The Bottom Line

Buy Aembit if you need agent access control you can pilot this month, choose Oasis if you need intent-based access across a large estate and accept a new owner, and treat Astrix as a renewal decision only. The 2026 deals turned this from a feature comparison into a question of who will sell and support the product next year.

Before you sign, get documentation access, a written price, and a roadmap commitment from the current owner. Send corrections or tool suggestions through our contact page.